## Fremont Elementary School Chess Teams shine at Nationals

May 20, 2012 by Joe Lonsdale

Over 2,200 elementary school children from all over the country competed in National Elementary school chess Championships in Nashville, Tennessee the weekend of May 10th to 13th. Four Championship team trophies were handed out at these championships. One of these trophies went to Dalton School in New York City, one went to West Elementary School in Greenbriar, Virginia and two first place team trophies went to Elementary schools in Fremont, California!

Mission San Jose Elementary (MSJE) took home the first place team trophy in the kindergarten to grade one section (K-1) and Weibel Elementary School took home the first place team trophy in the K-6 section.

In the K-6 the Weibel team of Kevin Moy (6 out of 7 tied for first place fifth place individual trophy.), Michael Wang (5.5 points sixth place individual trophy), Anthony Zhou, and Steven Li won the first place team trophy. Each scoring member of this team won a \$500 college scholarship.



Sayan Das, Joe Lonsdale, Shalin Shah, Eric Zhu, Alvin Kong

MSJE also competed in the K-6 championship section (Shalin Shah, Alvin Kong, Eric Zhu, and Sayan Das) where they took home the six place team trophy.

The MSJE team took home the first place team trophy in the K-1 section. The top four scoring members of the team (Rishith Susarla, Edwin Thomas, Amulya Harish, and Annapoorni Meiyappan) won \$500 college scholarships for their performance.

In the K-1 section MSJEs' Rishith Susarla won six of seven games and

tied for third place. Rishith took home the fourth place trophy. Edwin Thomas won scored 5.5 points (five wins and a draw) and tied for 15th place. Amulya Harish, Annapoorni Meiyappan, and Kevin Pan each scored four points.

Weibel also competed in the K-1 section. The team of Louis Law, Oliver Wu, Vincent Wang, and Eshaan Mistry took home the seventh place team trophy.

Kevin Pan, Stephen He, Rishith Susarla, Aarti Sant, Amulya Harish, Annapoorni Meiyappan, rear Joe Lonsdale

Both MSJE and Weibel competed in the K-3 Championship section. The MSJE team of John Chan, Mihir Bhuptani, Tommy

Koh, Luke Zhao, Jeffrey Liu, and Soorya Kuppam took home the seventh place team trophy. The Weibel team of Anvi Surapaneni, Arti Surapaneni, Suryateja Mandadi, and Enya Mistry took home the tenth place trophy.

MSJE also competed in the K-5 section where they came in 18th with a three player team (Amit Sant, Drake Lin, and Anjan Das).

Only three schools in the country had top ten finishes in three championship sections. The schools were Dalton School (NYC a perennial national champion in scholastic chess), MSJE, and Weibel Elementary. Fremont has truly become a powerhouse of scholastic chess!